SingleStore DB

Understanding sync users

When sync_permissions is set, any new users created will be sync users, with the exception of the local root user that is still present on each aggregator. The following rules apply to sync users:

  • If you run the DROP USER command, SingleStore DB drops the sync user with that name (if one exists).

  • The SHOW USERS command will only show sync users.

  • If you run a GRANT on a user that doesn’t exist, SingleStore DB will create a sync user with the specified name and then run the grant.

  • If you run a GRANT or REVOKE command on the master aggregator, SingleStore DB will assume the specified user is a sync user.

  • If you run a GRANT or REVOKE command on a child aggregator, SingleStore DB will forward the command to the master aggregator and assume the specified user is a sync user.

All of the same semantics apply to sync groups and sync roles as well.