Manage Clusters
On this page
A cluster is owned by an organization, and members of the organization can create, scale, and terminate clusters.
Create a Cluster
To create a cluster, in the left navigation pane, select Create New > Cluster.
Note that the cluster admin password is configured when the cluster is first created.admin by default.
Opt-in to Preview Features & Updates
When enabling this option, the deployment receives the latest features and updates as soon as they are available.
Perform the following steps to get access to the Preview Features.
-
In the Cloud Portal, select Create New > Cluster.
-
Under Advanced Settings, enable Opt-in to Preview Features & Updates.
View Database Storage Usage and Cost
To view a database’s storage usage and cost:
-
Navigate to the organization name in the left navigation pane: (ORG:) > Billing & Usage > Usage Estimate > Storage Usage to view storage used.
-
Navigate to the organization name at the top (ORG:) > Billing & Usage > Usage Estimate > Billable > Storage Billed On-Demand (Average Monthly GB) to view the monthly storage cost.
-
Note that the storage cost is billed in US dollars (
$) and the storage price is dependent on the deployment region that was selected when the database was created.
Resize a Cluster
Cluster size can be modified by simply selecting another size in the Cloud Portal.
To resize a cluster,navigate to Clusters, select the three dots under the Actions column, and select Resize & Scale from the list.
Resizing operations may require provisioning new instances from the cloud provider, and delays in availability can affect the overall completion time.
SingleStore recommends completing or minimizing active workloads before initiating resize operations.
Estimated times are not guaranteed and may vary depending on cloud provider provisioning and cluster workload.
Suspend and Resume a Cluster
Clusters do not need to be running when there is no active workload querying a database.
Databases will be retained as long as the Cluster Group containing the database exists.
Note
Backup operations in SingleStore Helios fail if a cluster is in the process of resuming, suspending, or terminating.
ERROR 1317 ER_QUERY_INTERRUPTED: Leaf Error: Query execution was interruptedSuspend a Cluster
To suspend the cluster, navigate to Clusters, select the three dots under the Actions column, and select Suspend.
While suspending a cluster, the system does not forcefully terminate or block active workloads.
Resume a Cluster
To resume a suspended cluster, navigate to Clusters and select Resume under the Actions column for the cluster.
Resume operations may take a few minutes to attach databases and come online.
Auto Suspend a Cluster
Auto suspend allows you to configure a cluster to automatically suspend either after a set period of time or after a period of inactivity.
There are two types of auto suspend: Idle and Scheduled.
-
Idle: the cluster will get suspended after X seconds of engine inactivity.
The time only takes effect from the point when the settings are enabled. For example, if you set it for 30 minutes but the cluster already has an engine idle time of one hour before the settings are enabled, then the cluster will get suspended only after 30 minutes from the time the settings are enabled. -
Scheduled: the cluster will get suspended after X seconds have passed, irrespective of its activity.
(Note: this type of auto-suspend is not available for Trial users. )
The task that auto-suspends the clusters runs every 5 minutes, so there can be a maximum difference of five minutes between the time when the cluster should be suspended and when it will actually get suspended.
Once a cluster is resumed, you can either keep the previous auto-suspend settings or disable them.
The default auto-suspend settings at the time of cluster creation are:
-
For trial users, the settings are enabled by default to 20 minutes of idle time.
-
For standard users, the settings are disabled by default.
Note
When a cluster resumes from auto-suspend, SingleStore Helios requests new compute capacity from the cloud provider.
Terminate a Cluster
To terminate a running cluster, navigate to Clusters, select the three dots under the Actions column, and select Terminate from the list.
Data Retention in SingleStore Helios Service Post Termination
Encrypted data from terminated deployments is automatically and securely purged from all systems on termination, and any administrative backup data is purged within 14 days.
Cloud Workload Identity and Delegated Entities
Cloud Workload Identity represents a set of Kubernetes and AWS resources and configurations that are provisioned for each cluster.
Last modified: