Manage Workspaces

A workspace is owned by an organization, and members of the organization can create, scale, and terminate workspaces.

Create a Workspaces

To create a workspace, navigate to Deployments in the left navigation, select Overview tab, then select + Create Workspace, and follow the provided instructions.

Note that the workspace admin password is configured when the workspace is first created. SingleStore recommends that you save this password as you will need it to log into the database outside of the Cloud Portal, such as when using a SQL client. This is also referred to as the “Master Username” in the Cloud Portal, which is admin by default.

View Database Storage Usage and Cost

To view a database’s storage usage and cost:

  • Navigate to the organization name at the top (ORG:) > Billing & Usage > Usage Estimate > Storage Usage to view storage used.

  • Navigate to the organization name at the top (ORG:) > Billing & Usage > Usage Estimate > Billable > Storage Billed On-Demand (Average Monthly GB) to view the monthly storage cost.

  • Note that the storage cost is billed in US dollars ($) and the storage price is dependent on the deployment region that was selected when the database was created.

Resize a Workspace

Workspace size can be modified by simply selecting another size in the Cloud Portal.

To resize a workspace,navigate to Deployments > Workspaces, select the three dots under the Actions column, and select Resize Workspace. Alternatively, navigate to Deployments > Overview, select the three dots in the workspace card, and select Resize Workspace.

Suspend and Resume a Workspace

Workspaces do not need to be running when there is no active workload querying a database. To save cost, workspaces can be suspended when inactive. 

Databases will be retained as long as the Workspace Group containing the database exists.

Suspend a Workspace

To suspend the workspace, navigate to Deployments > Workspaces, select the three dots under the Actions column, and select Suspend Workspace. Alternatively, navigate to Deployments > Overview, select the three dots in the workspace card, and select Suspend Workspace. Users and Firewall rules will be retained within the workspace group.

Resume a Workspace

To resume a suspended workspace, navigate to Deployments > Workspaces, select the three dots under the Actions column, and select Resume Workspace. Alternatively, navigate to Deployments > Overview, and select Resume on the suspended workspace card. Resume operations may take a few minutes to attach databases and come online.

Auto Suspend a Workspace

Auto suspend allows you to configure a workspace to automatically suspend either after a set period of time or after a period of inactivity. It can be configured on an existing workspace, or set at the time of creation.

There are two types of auto suspend: Idle and Scheduled. Only one type can be enabled at a time.

  • Idle: the workspace will get suspended after X seconds of engine inactivity. The time only takes effect from the point when the settings are enabled. For example, if you set it for 30 minutes but the workspace already has an engine idle time of one hour before the settings are enabled, then the workspace will get suspended only after 30 minutes from the time the settings are enabled.

  • Scheduled: the workspace will get suspended after X seconds have passed, irrespective of its activity. (Note: this type of auto-suspend is not available for Trial users.)

The task that auto-suspends the workspaces runs every 5 minutes, so there can be a maximum difference of five minutes between the time when the workspace should be suspended and when it will actually get suspended.

Once a workspace is resumed, you can either keep the previous auto-suspend settings or disable them. The default behavior keeps the previous settings.

The default auto-suspend settings at the time of workspace creation are:

  • For trial users, the settings are enabled by default to 20 minutes of idle time.

  • For standard users, the settings are disabled by default.

Terminate a Workspace

To terminate a running workspace, navigate to Deployments > Workspaces, select the three dots under the Actions column, and select Terminate Workspace. Alternatively, navigate to Deployments > Overview, select the three dots in the workspace card, and select Terminate Workspace.

Data Retention in SingleStore Helios Service Post Termination

Encrypted data from terminated deployments is automatically and securely purged from all systems on termination, and any administrative backup data is purged within 14 days. Hence, it is not possible to recover data from a terminated deployment. If you need to retain data post-termination, SingleStore recommends that you back up your data to an external object storage bucket.

Last modified: July 16, 2024

Was this article helpful?