Manage Workspaces

A workspace is owned by an organization, and members of the organization can create, scale, and terminate workspaces.

Create a Workspace

To create a workspace, navigate to Cloud in the left nav, click the plus (+) icon, and follow the provided instructions.

Note that the workspace admin password is configured when the workspace is first created. It is recommended that you save this password as you will need it to log into the database outside of the portal, such as when using a SQL client. This is also referred to as the “Master Username” in the portal, which is admin by default.

View Database Storage Usage and Cost

To view a database’s storage usage and cost:

  • Navigate to the organization name in the left nav (ORG:) > Billing & Usage > Usage Estimate > Storage Usage to view storage used

  • Navigate to the organization name in the left nav (ORG:) > Billing & Usage > Usage Estimate > Billable > Avg GB Stored to view the monthly storage cost

  • Note that the storage cost is billed in US dollars ($) and the storage price is dependent on the deployment region that was selected when the database was created.

Resize a Workspace

Workspace size can be modified by simply selecting another size in the portal.

To resize a workspace, in the Overview tab, on the workspace card, click the action menu (ms-action-menu.png) and select Resize Workspace.

Suspend and Resume a Workspace

Workspaces do not need to be running when there is no active workload querying a database. To save cost, Workspaces can be terminated when inactive. 

Databases will be retained as long as the Workspace Group containing the database exists.

Suspend a Workspace

To suspend charges for a Workspace simply terminate the workspace. Users and Firewall rules will be retained within the workspace group.

Resume a Workspace

To resume operation simply create a new workspace within the workspace group and attach the database(s) you want to query. Note that the workspace endpoint addresses will change when creating a new workspace.

Terminate a Workspace

To terminate a running workspace, in the Overview tab, on the workspace card, click the action menu (ms-action-menu.png) and select Terminate Workspace.

Data Retention in Our Service Post Termination

Encrypted data from terminated deployments is automatically and securely purged from all systems on termination, and any administrative backup data is purged within 14 days. Hence, it is not possible to recover data from a terminated deployment. If you need to retain data post termination, it is recommended that you backup your data to an external object storage bucket.