SingleStore Helios Scheduled Updates

Note

SingleStore Helios deployments perform weekly online updates to ensure the service receives the latest performance enhancements and bug fixes. During these updates, there may be minor performance impacts which could last for up to two (2) hours. The scheduled update time is shown per deployment in the Updates tab of the Cloud Portal and can be modified as needed.

About Scheduled Updates

Scheduled updates allow improvements, bug fixes, and optimizations to be made to SingleStore. These updates are applied automatically across infrastructure, system software, and services so that no manual user intervention is needed. The updates may trigger an online rolling restart. SingleStore Helios is highly available, and a rolling restart of services should not typically affect running workloads, however, you may experience 2 to 5 minutes where DDL is unavailable during the update.

Disruptions which may be experienced during the update window include:

  • Pipeline batches may fail and retry.

  • Resources may be added and removed as the service is updated. As a result, you may see a temporary performance reduction for compute workloads as these resources are cycled.

Some actions may be blocked in the two hours preceding a scheduled update. These include scaling, suspending, and resuming deployments, as well as resetting the admin password or updating the firewall allowlist.

Email reminders for each upcoming update are sent to the Organization Contact Email configured in organization settings on the Cloud Portal for accounts with an active SingleStore deployment.

Note

You can modify the email ID for the scheduled update emails by editing the Organization Contact Email in the Settings for your organization in the Cloud Portal. Refer to Manage Organization Users.

Non-Production and Production

When creating a new deployment, users can set the deployment type to Non-production or Production. This tag will be used when rolling out new features and patches. Updates will be automatically applied to non-production deployments before they are rolled out to production.

Enabling New Features

Updates are automatically and transparently applied to all deployments during each scheduled update; however, some new features are not enabled automatically. This allows users to test these features with applications and workloads before enabling them.

When available, a list of new features will be shown in the Updates tab in the Cloud Portal. All features not currently enabled are listed along with the Month in which the latest features were made available.

Enabling new features will cause an online restart, and can be enabled immediately or scheduled for the next available update. It will not be possible to roll back these features once applied.

It is recommended users test new features with their applications or workloads before enabling them to ensure there are no application or performance regressions.

As updates and new features are rolled out progressively, not all deployments will receive updates at the same time. This ensures the highest stability of the service can be delivered at all times. Due to the progressive nature of updates, it is not possible to cancel updates, but the schedule can be adjusted by an administrator to meet the needs of a specific application.

Last modified: November 27, 2023

Was this article helpful?